Birdy in flight above Annecy glider school and progression EN-A+ SUPAIR BIRDY

BIRDY

The "Swiss Army knife" glider for daring or occasional beginner pilots
The key word: versatility.
Light, compact, agile and safe without compromising its durability, the BIRDY allows you to progress quickly while having fun.

Category: EN-A
Weight : 4,2 kg in M
Delete

3 850,00

Recommended retail price in France
Practice
  • On-site flight
  • Cross Country
  • Hike and fly
  • Tandem
Frequency
  • Occasional
  • Regular
  • Professional
Level
  • Novice
  • Intermediate
  • Seasoned

About the Birdy

 

This glider is EN-A+ approved and is aimed at the daring beginner pilot who wants to be able to progress for a long time with the same wing as well as the occasional pilot who needs to feel secure before moving on to the LEAF2 EN-B.

It is the glider of your first beautiful flights. The BIRDY is the bird in your head that encourages you to fly and shows you how to flap your wings.

The BIRDY confidently opens up the field of possibilities: modest diving, flight on site, mountain flight, walking and flight, thermalling, some cross country, inflating, soaring and seaside. This glider gives the daring beginner the keys to explore, identify the facets of flight that appeal to him/her and progress.

The occasional pilot of modest level will be able to enjoy this glider which won't get their feathers ruffled.

The BIRDY likes to play in the air masses, to slide in the breeze, to enter turns, to exploit the dynamics of flight.

It does not have the nonchalance of a school glider, on the contrary: it dialogues with the pilot,
It communicates with the pilot, transmits information, allows him to evolve and learn. This glider is designed to last, to follow the evolution of the pilot without ever slowing down his progress. It is a benevolent machine that always encourages the rider to go further, to dig deeper into the sensations of flight with the tranquillity of its passive safety.

The Birdy has fun without calculation. Faithful and attentive, instinctive and stable, it concentrates all the Supair spirit: to help pilots take the exhilarating paths of the air with serenity. The Birdy is well born, patiently designed and carefully built. It has all the features of a great glider: mini-ribs in trailling edge, shark nose on the leading edge, C-pilot kit.

The choice of semi-light design combines the best of both worlds: the Birdy does not suffer from any concession on its life span while being compact and light enough for hiking. The light fabric on the lower surface is compensated by a more resistant material on the upper surface (which is even more exposed to friction and the sun). The lines and the refined risers do not tangle thanks to a simplified and uncluttered architecture.

glider Birdy in action

3D model

Features

Steering
  • Adventurous and daring beginner pilots
  • Occasional pilot wishing to progress and to reassure himself before switching to EN-B
  • Take-off on foot or by winch
Equipment
  • Ergonomic risers
  • Sharknose airfoil
  • Nitinol on large openings
  • Anti-friction rings
  • Smart mini ribs
  • Ears kit
  • Wingtip dumping system
  • Removable C-pilot kit
Materials
  • Upper surface fabric: Dominico D30 soft, Dominico D20 soft
  • Lower surface fabric: Porcher Sport Skytex 27 g/m² soft
  • Ribs / roads fabric : MJTec 32 g/m² hard finish, Porcher Sport Skytex 27 g/m² hard finish
  • Reinforcement fabric: Porcher Sport
  • Upper and mid lines: Edelrid
  • Lower lines: Edelrid
Certification
  • Standard EN 926 - 1 and 2 and LTF 91/09 - Class A
Composition
  • BIRDY glider
  • Trek 90/110 backpack
  • Compact Case
  • Speed bar
  • User's manual (USB key)
  • Repair kit pocket

BIRDY Presentation - Swiss Tour

Birdy in flight

Birdy - Bivouac Flight

Birdy - Bivouac Flight

BIRDY technical video 

Birdy technical video thumbnail

Technical Data

BIRDY XS S M M-L L
Number of cells 44 44 44 44 44
Flat area (m²) 21,25 23,6 26,5 28,3 30,5
Wingspan (m) 10,25 10,81 11,45 11,83 12,28
Chord (m) 2,54 2,68 2,84 2,93 3,05
Flat aspect ratio 4,95 4,95 4,95 4,95 4,95
Projected area (m²) 18,03 20,2 22,48 24,01 25,88
Projected span (m) 8,11 8,55 9,06 9,36 9,72
Projected aspect ratio 3,68 3,68 3,68 3,68 3,68
Glider Weight (kg) 3,30 3,84 4,20 4,40 4,60
Weight Range (kg) 50-70 65-85 80-105 90-115 105-130
Certification EN - LTF A EN - LTF A EN - LTF A EN - LTF A EN - LTF A
Number of risers 3 3 3 3 3

They talk about it

01/02
"I had the chance to try out this magnificent glider for a small two-day Flight bivouac from Annecy to the Bauges. The Birdy blew me away.It was quite windy and yet the glider climbs alone and does not overtake me. Three steps and I am already in the air. I am used to flying more technical gliders. Here I feel like I'm rediscovering paragliding of my beginnings with the performance and the speed... it's crazy! The conditions are quite strong but the glider remains very calm, I am super serene. I spend a good part of the beginning of flight taking pictures and videos. I am not in active piloting mode and yet the glider is doing its job. My friends have taken off a few minutes before me and I have to catch up with them. I push the speed bar and I'm surprised to see that I don't degrade too much. It's really not bad. In thermals it's a rare ease. The glider does not shoot, the turn is very intuitive and the brake is really soft. In the very small I am unbeatable with this new toy. It turns on the spot and I can really centre the lift. We cross the lake and head for the Roc des Boeufs mountain. It's just crazy to have such a quiet glider with really good performances. We spend the afternoon walking around the massif and decide to land on a summit at the end of the day. The approach is easy and the low speeds very safe. I landed like a flower on a tiny piece of grass. It would have been much more technical with my glider . In the evening I fall asleep by the fire and we go back tomorrow by flight in the first thermals that come out on the East faces.
This glider seems to me to be ideal for pilots who are looking for a safe compromise but who want to have some nice flights. It's a great machine, with great potential for great adventures and offers unprecedented passive safety and tranquillity.
Tom DE DORLODOT - Professional pilot
"The Birdy is the result of an alchemy of design, development, trial and error. A balancing act!"
Pierre-Yves Alloix - Designer

Gallery

01/10

Gallery

glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
glider Birdy in action
eona3 in flight
EONA 3
glider ultra-light mountain EIKO2
EIKO 2

Birdy en vol au dessus d'annecy Voile école et progression EN-A+ SUPAIR BIRDY

BIRDY

La voile "couteau suisse" pour débutant audacieux ou pilote occasionnel
Le maître mot: la polyvalence.
Légère et compacte, ludique, restant sûre sans compromettre sa tenue dans le temps, la BIRDY permet de progresser rapidement tout en se faisant plaisir.

Catégorie : EN-A
Poids : 4,2 kg en M
Effacer

3 850,00

Prix public conseillé TTC en France
Pratique
  • Vol sur site
  • Cross
  • Vol rando
  • Biplace
Fréquence
  • Occasionnelle
  • Régulière
  • Professionnelle
Niveau
  • Novice
  • Intermédiaire
  • Aguerri

À propos de la Birdy

 

Cette voile homologuée EN-A+ s’adresse au débutant audacieux qui souhaite pouvoir progresser longtemps avec la même aile ainsi qu’au pilote occasionnel qui a besoin de se rassurer avant de passer sur la LEAF2 EN-B.

C’est l’aile de vos premiers plus beaux vols. La BIRDY, c’est l’oiseau qu’on a dans la tête qui nous encourage à voler et qui nous montre comment battre des ailes.

La BIRDY ouvre en confiance le champ des possibles: plouf modeste, vol sur site, vol montagne, marche et vol, pilotage en thermique, un peu de cross, du gonflage, du soaring et bord de mer. Cette voile donne au débutant audacieux les clés pour explorer, identifier les facettes du vol qui lui plaisent le mieux et progresser.

Le pilote occasionnel de niveau modeste saura profiter de cette aile qui ne lui volera pas dans les plumes.

La BIRDY aime jouer dans les masses d’air, glisser dans les brises, entrer en virage, exploiter la dynamique de vol.

Elle n’a pas la nonchalance d’une voile-école, au contraire : elle dialogue avec le pilote,
lui transmet des informations, lui permet d’évoluer et d’apprendre. Cette voile est conçue pour durer, suivre l’évolution du pilote sans jamais freiner sa courbe de progression. Bienveillante, elle incite toujours à aller plus loin, à creuser les sensations de vol avec la tranquillité de sa sécurité passive.

La Birdy s’amuse sans calcul. Fidèle et attentive, instinctive et stable, elle concentre tout l’esprit Supair : aider les pilotes à emprunter sereinement les chemins exaltants de l’air. La Birdy est bien née, patiemment conçue, soigneusement construite. Elle a tout d’une grande : mini-ribs en bord de fuite, shark nose sur le bord d’attaque, kit de pilotage aux C.

Le parti-pris de conception semi-light associe le meilleur des deux mondes : la Birdy ne souffre pas de concession sur sa durée de vie tout en étant suffisamment compacte et légère pour la rando. Ainsi le tissu léger sur l’intrados est compensé par un matériau plus résistant sur l’extrados (encore plus soumis aux frottements et au soleil). Les suspentes dégainées et les élévateurs affinés ne s’emmêlent pas grâce à une architecture simplifiée et épurée.

Voile Birdy en action

Modèle 3D

Caractéristiques

Pilotage
  • Pilotes débutants dégourdis et audacieux
  • Pilot occasionnel souhaitant progresser et se rassurer avant de passer en EN-B
  • Décollage à pied ou au treuil
Équipement
  • Élévateurs ergonomiques
  • Profil Sharknose
  • Nitinol sur les grandes ouvertures
  • Anneaux anti-friction
  • Smart mini ribs
  • Kit oreilles
  • Système de vidage de bouts d’aile
  • Kit de pilotage aux C amovible
Matériaux
  • Tissu extrados : Dominico D30 soft, Dominico D20 soft
  • Tissu intrados : Porcher Sport Skytex 27 g/m² soft
  • Tissu cloisons : MJTec 32 g/m² hard finish, Porcher Sport Skytex 27 g/m² hard finish
  • Tissu renforts : Porcher Sport
  • Suspentes hautes & intermédiaires : Edelrid
  • Suspentes basses : Edelrid
Homologation
  • Norme EN 926 – 1 et 2 et LTF 91/09 – Classe A
Composition
  • Voile BIRDY
  • Sac Trek 90/110
  • Compact Case
  • Accélérateur
  • Notice (clé USB)
  • Pochette avec kit de réparation

Présentation BIRDY - Tournée Suisse

Birdy en vol

Birdy - Bivouac Flight

Birdy - Bivouac Flight

Video technique BIRDY

Miniature vidéo technique Birdy

Données Techniques

BIRDY XS S M M-L L
Nombre de cellules 44 44 44 44 44
Surface à plat (m²) 21,25 23,6 26,5 28,3 30,5
Envergure (m) 10,25 10,81 11,45 11,83 12,28
Corde (m) 2,54 2,68 2,84 2,93 3,05
Allongement à plat 4,95 4,95 4,95 4,95 4,95
Surface projetée (m²) 18,03 20,2 22,48 24,01 25,88
Envergure projetée (m) 8,11 8,55 9,06 9,36 9,72
Allongement projeté 3,68 3,68 3,68 3,68 3,68
Poids voile (kg) 3,30 3,84 4,20 4,40 4,60
Plage Poids Total Volant (kg) 50-70 65-85 80-105 90-115 105-130
Homologation EN – LTF A EN – LTF A EN – LTF A EN – LTF A EN – LTF A
Nombre d’élévateurs 3 3 3 3 3

Ils en parlent

01/02
"J’ai eu la chance d’essayer cette magnifique voile pour un petit vol bivouac de deux jours au départ d’Annecy vers les Bauges. La Birdy m’a directement bluffé. Il y a peu d’air et pourtant la voile monte seule et ne me dépasse pas. Trois pas et je suis déjà en l’air. J’ai plutôt l’habitude de voler des voiles plus pointues et plus techniques. Là j’ai l’impression de redécouvrir un peu le parapente de mes débuts avec la perf et la vitesse en plus… c’est dément! Les conditions sont assez fortes mais la voile reste ultra tranquille, je suis super serein. Je passe une bonne partie du début du vol à faire des photos et des vidéos. Je ne suis pas en mode pilotage actif et pourtant la voile fait son travail. Mes amis ont décollé quelques minutes avant moi et je dois les rattraper. J’enfonce l’accélérateur et je suis surpris de voir que je ne dégrade pas trop. Ça plane vraiment pas mal. En thermique c’est d’une facilité rare. La voile ne shoot pas, le virage est très intuitif et le frein est vraiment doux. Dans le tout petit je suis imbattable avec ce nouveau jouet. Ça tourne sur place et je peux vraiment bien centrer l’ascendance. Nous traversons le lac et filons vers le roc des boeufs. C’est juste dingue une voile aussi tranquille avec des perfs vraiment honorables. Nous passons l’après midi à nous balader dans le massif et décidons de poser sur un sommet en fin de journée. L’approche est facile et les basses vitesses très safe. Je pose comme une fleur sur un tout petit bout d’herbe. Ça aurait été nettement plus technique avec ma voile de compétition. Le soir je m’endors au bord du feu et on rentre le le demain en vol dans les premiers thermiques qui sortent sur les faces Est.
Cette voile me parait idéale pour les pilotes qui cherchent un compromis sécurisant mais qui veulent s’offrir des beaux vols. C’est une super machine, avec un beau potentiel pour des belles aventures et qui offre une sécurité passive et une tranquillité sans précédent"
Tom DE DORLODOT - Pilote professionnel
"La Birdy est le résultat d’une alchimie de conception, de mise au point, d’essais et d’erreurs. Un numéro d’équilibriste !"
Pierre-Yves Alloix - Concepteur

Galerie

01/10

Galerie

Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
Voile Birdy en action
eona3 en vol
EONA 3
voile montagne ultra-légère EIKO2
EIKO 2